Regulations for the management and functioning of Commissions of the AIEB

The AIEB has established a number of special commissions in order to support and to promote particular specialist areas of research in the field of Byzantine Studies. These are listed below, with their members, preceded by the regulations for their governance.

NB: While these regulations should be observed wherever possible, the AIEB recognises that commissions vary in respect of possible membership and areas of expertise, and that some leeway in practice may be necessary. Where a particular issue or a question of procedure arises, commission presidents/chairs should consult the International Bureau.

- 1. Number of members: Each commission should establish a *maximum* number of active members (they may also, if desirable, propose a minimum, depending on the field of specialism with which they are concerned). In the interests of efficient management of responsibilities, tasks and communications, the International Bureau suggests a *maximum* of 15 for all commissions. In cases where this number is or has been exceeded, the commission president should inform the International Bureau and set out the reasons. No *minimum* is specified in light of considerable variations in the representation of specific fields, although a group of 10 members is recommended, where possible.
- 2. Executive committee/praesidium. Each commission should elect a chair or president, who will be responsible for scheduling meetings and maintaining communication with the International Bureau and within the commission membership [NB: for newly-established commissions, the first chair/president will normally already have volunteered to serve for the first term]. The chair/president may nominate a secretary and any other supporting personnel necessary to assist with the effective conduct of the business of the commission. Such appointments are at the discretion of the chair, should reflect the particular needs and

- personnel of the commission in question, and may be terminated or renewed by a new chair/president.
- 3. <u>Term of service</u>: Commission members should serve for a standard term of 5 years. This may be followed by a second consecutive term of service, after which the member should stand down. However, it is recognised that, whereas in some fields there are many specialists who can become commission members, this is not always the case in smaller or more highly specialised or technical fields. In such cases, see article [4] below.
- 4. <u>Third terms</u>: in exceptional circumstances, should the members of a commission agree, an individual may serve for a third term. ¹ This should, however, be ratified by the International Bureau on behalf of the AIEB.
- 5. Chairs/presidents of commissions: in order to ensure a regular and fair transmission of leadership in each commission, the president or chair (i) should be rotated every five years; and (ii) should not become a member of the praesidium/executive committee of the commission, if the commission in question possesses one, until at least five years have elapsed since stepping down from the commission chairmanship/presidency. Ex-chairs may, of course, continue to serve on the commission as ordinary members (subject to the guidelines of terms of service), and may be recruited as honorary members (see article [8] below).
- 6. Membership of commissions: In order to maintain the internal dynamic of each commission, membership should take into account the balance of gender, age, and affiliation/country of its members, as far as this is possible in respect of the specialist skills and knowledge required for service. A minimum of 20% of the members of each commission should, where possible, have achieved their PhD within 20 years of their election to a commission. While the AIEB recognises that strict adherence to these recommendations may not always be possible, commission presidents are urged to conform to these suggestions as the norm insofar as membership of their field permits.

-

¹ See also http://aiebnet.gr/statutes-internal-rules/ Internal Rules, Art. 5.

- 7. Selection of new members: When a member retires from a commission, the chair/president of the commission should (a) notify the International Bureau and (b) insert a request, in due course, into the AIEB *Newsletter* for potential new members. The criteria for selection should be agreed by the members of the commission in question and should be publicly set out in the *Newsletter* notice. Applications will be reviewed, and the selection of a new member should be made, by the members of the commission in question. If necessary, this can be done through the appointment of an *ad hoc* selection committee comprised of existing members of the commission, but the final decision must be ratified by all members of the commission, and through a simple majority vote. The decision of the commission is final.
- 8. <u>Honorary members</u>: In cases where a commission wishes to draw upon additional expertise, it may appoint honorary members. Honorary members may attend commission meetings and offer advice, provide information, and be asked to carry out activities on behalf of the commission. Honorary members may not vote on commission business.
- 9. <u>Inactive members</u>: Where a commission member remains inactive and/or unresponsive to requests from the chair/president (acting on behalf of a commission), the commission has the right, after due discussion, to withdraw membership from that individual and to proceed to elect a new member (following the procedure set out in article [7] above). In such cases the president of the commission must inform the member in question and offer them at least one month to respond before proceeding with the election of a replacement member.